Lee News

Martin Named Presser Scholar

Martin Named Presser Scholar
Pictured here (l to r) is Presser Scholar Brittany Martin, left, with Dr. William Green.

Brittany Martin, a music major with an emphasis in vocal music from Paris, Tennessee, was recently named the recipient of Lee University’s 2017-18 Presser Undergraduate Scholar Award.

The Presser Foundation, established by music publisher Theodore Presser, is dedicated solely to the support of music and music education. With its Undergraduate Scholar Award, the Pennsylvania-based foundation recognizes students who demonstrate outstanding accomplishments in music performance at accredited colleges and universities across the country.

“Brittany represents the very best in the Lee University School of Music, with excellent scholarship, exceptional musicianship, and dedicated stewardship of God-given abilities,” said Dr. William Green, dean of the School of Music at Lee. “We are honored to have her designated as our Presser Scholar.”

During her time at Lee, Martin has been involved in Ladies of Lee, an ensemble of which she currently serves as vice president and a section leader. She is also a member of Opera Theatre, a student worker for the Department of Musicianship Studies, and a music theory tutor for Academic Services.

Apart from Martin’s musical engagements, she is the founding vice president of Lee University Peacemakers, a student action club advocating for Christian non-violence, in addition to being a member of Lee’s racial social justice advocacy group. Martin has also served as both a tutor and mentor with Y-CAP (YMCA’s community action project) of Cleveland.

During the summer of 2015, Martin served with the National Council of Churches of the Philippines in Manila as a part of the Global Justice Volunteers program, working for equality at various levels. She also had the opportunity to travel with Ladies of Lee to Goa, India, in May 2016 to serve with Rahab’s Rope, an organization committed to the elimination of sex trafficking in India through education, prevention, and intervention.

Following her graduation in May 2018, Martin plans to pursue a Master of Divinity from Wesley Theological Seminary.

“In receiving this award, I am humbly reminded of the many teachers, mentors, friends, and family members who cultivated my mind and spirit and who exemplified for me a life of excellence,” said Martin. “I thank them, and all the more, I commend the many other deserving, dedicated, and excellent students among whom I stand and whose efforts do not go unnoticed. I am honored each day to make music with them.”

As the 2017-18 Presser Scholar, Martin will receive a cash stipend for her upcoming senior year.

Presser Undergraduate Scholar Awards are distributed to a number of accredited institutions throughout America. Past recipients of Lee University include Kristiana McCombs (2016), Matthew Kelly (2015), Joey Archer (2014), Erica Tipton (2013), Matthew Wilkinson (2012), Lamprini Lindeman (2011), Christopher Oglesby (2010), Sabbath Ward (2009), Rachael Skidmore (2008), Michael Land (2007), Brooke Upton (2006), Troy Strand (2005), Rachel Ogle Laney (2004), Amy Shallenberger (2003), Brian Shaw (2002), RaeAnna Hooper (2001), and Jeffrey Jewsome (2000).

For more information on Lee’s School of Music, call (423) 614-8240. The School of Music can also be followed on Facebook.
« Previous Story Price, Sanders, and Kamm Receive CWC Award Next Story » 2017 Rymer Winners Announced