Lee News

AKD Honor Society Inducts Four Lee Sociology Majors, Receives National Commendation

The Theta Chapter of Alpha Kappa Delta recently inducted four Lee University sociology honor students during its spring 2017 honor society banquet.

This year’s inductees are Megan Balut of Maryville, Michigan; Michaela Gaither of Cleveland Tennessee; Brandi Joann Kilpatrick of Ten Mile, Tennessee; and Mykah Smith of Nassau, Bahamas.

Dr. Dale McConkey, associate professor of sociology at Berry College and director of its Wesley Center, served as the guest speaker at the event. Parents and friends of the honorees were present as Dr. Ollie Lee, co-founder of Lee’s AKD chapter, presented the award certificates. Lee’s Drs. Karen Mundy-Judkins, Arlie Tagayuna, and Ben Judkins were also present.

Chairperson of AKD Rebecca Hooper, of Nashville, Tennessee, was the recipient of this year’s sociology award. The Lee chapter of AKD received a 2016-17 commendation from the national honor society for its contribution to the society.

AKD is an affiliate of the American Sociological Association and maintains high standards for scholarship and research. It seeks to acknowledge and promote excellence in scholarship in the study of sociology, the research of social problems, and such other social and intellectual activities as will lead to improvement in the human condition.

For more information about Lee’s chapter of AKD, contact Dr. Karen Mundy-Judkins, chapter sponsor and AKD fellow, at kmundy@leeuniversity.edu.

« Previous Story Woolfitt and Hamner Scholars Attend Literary Festival Next Story » Grabeman Publishes Book “Real and True”