Lee News

Bilbo Award winners Announced

Bilbo Award Winners Named
Pictured here left to right are Dr. Jimmy W. Bilbo, Ashley Barron, Brooke Wilsman, Jessica Gilbert, and Ella Wheeler

The Lee University Helen DeVos College of Education recently honored the winners of the Dr. Jimmy W. Bilbo Excellence in Student Teaching Award. The fall 2018 recipients are Ashley Barron, Jessica Gilbert, Ella Wheeler, and Brooke Wilsman.

Each semester three or four student teachers are chosen to receive the Bilbo Award. Established in the spring semester of 1996, this award recognizes excellence in student teaching and is presented each semester at a student teacher banquet.

Barron student-taught 3rd grade at Blythe/Bower Elementary School and 4th grade at Eastside Avenue School in Chattanooga. Gilbert’s student-teaching included 5th grade at Michigan Avenue Elementary and 3rd grade at Orchard Knob Elementary in Chattanooga. Wheeler student-taught special education at Calhoun Elementary School and North City School in Athens, while Wilsman’s student-teaching included kindergarten at Black Fox Elementary School and 5th grade at Snowhill Elementary School in Hamilton County.

The Excellence in Student Teaching award is given in honor of Dr. Jimmy W. Bilbo who was instrumental in developing and leading Lee’s Teacher Education Program for 35 years. Winners are nominated by their cooperating teachers and principals to receive this honor.
« Previous Story HESSE Students and Faculty Serve at CFD Next Story » Voices Broadway Christmas Performance to Air This Weekend