Lee News

Bledsoe Receives 2019 Excellence in Scholarship Award


Drew Bledsoe new
Dr. Drew Bledsoe

Dr. Drew Bledsoe, assistant professor of history, has been named the recipient of Lee University’s 2019 Excellence in Scholarship Award.

The winner of this award is chosen each year by the Faculty Scholarship and Research Committee. Lee President Dr. Paul Conn officially recognized Bledsoe for this award during spring commencement.

“We honor Bledsoe for his ability to find time in his busy teaching schedule to sustain a high level of scholarship,” said Conn. “His articles and scholarly publications, his presentations, professional conferences and seminars, his awards and honors in the discipline of history, and his engaging way of presenting the Civil War with fresh insight, mark him as a scholar to watch and remember as his career progresses.”

Bledsoe has been a member of the Lee University faculty since 2013. Prior to Lee, he earned his Doctor of Philosophy from Rice University. His areas of expertise are the Civil War and Reconstruction, Military History, and Early American History.

Bledsoe is the author of “Citizen-Officers: The Union and Confederate Volunteer Junior Officer Corps in the American Civil War,” and he has authored or edited numerous scholarly works on the Civil War and military history.

He has been a fellow at the United States Military Academy at West Point, a Ridgway fellow at the U.S. Army Center for Military History, and a faculty fellow at the Civil War Institute at Gettysburg College. Bledsoe is also a member of the Society for Military History, the Society of Civil War Historians, the Southern Historical Association, and the Cleveland-Bradley County Historical Society.

The Excellence in Scholarship Award is one of three faculty excellence awards recognizing teaching, scholarship, and advising. They are considered the highest honors bestowed on Lee faculty each year.
« Previous Story Alumna Martinez Serving in Honduras Next Story » Schrock Receives 2019 Excellence in Teaching Award