Lee News

National Anthropology Honor Society Inducts New Lee Members


Lambda Alpha Recipients
The Lambda Alpha inductees are pictured here with anthropology professors Dr. Murl Dirksen, Dr. Richard Jones, and Alan Wheeler. Shown (left to right) are Jay Leggett, Lincoln Beavers, Wheeler, Mara Busch, Jones, Danae Chaplin, Gina Merson, Dirksen, Natalie Schutz, Veronica Boss, Emma Moe-Lunger, Will Cody, Bryanna Young, and Colm Wykoff. (not pictured Desiree LaPeer)

Twelve anthropology majors at Lee University were recently inducted into Lambda Alpha National Anthropology Honor Society. Established in 1968, the purpose of the honor society is to acknowledge and reward academic excellence.

“The large number of our anthropology majors who are members of Lambda Alpha is a reflection of our students’ overall excellent academic performance both in the classroom and in research activities,” said Dr. Richard Jones, coordinator of the anthropology program. “We are pleased that so many of our students are eligible for membership.”

The name Lambda Alpha is composed of the initial letters of the Greek words logos and anthropos (Λογος and Ανθροποσ), meaning the study of humankind. Lambda Alpha supports scholarship and research by acknowledging and honoring superior achievement for students in the discipline of anthropology through membership in the society and through the annual awarding of student scholarships, research grants, and student paper prizes.

This year’s inductees include Lincoln Beavers, Veronica Boss, Mara Busch, Danae Chaplin, Will Cody, Desiree LaPeer, Jay Leggett, Gina Merson, Emma Moe-Lunger, Natalie Schutz, Bryanna Young, and Colm Wykoff

Anthropology majors at Lee are required to complete at least one course in archaeological, biological, cultural, and linguistic anthropology. Area studies courses are offered in China, Inner Asia, Latin America, Middle East, and Southwest Native Americans.

« Previous Story Symphony Orchestra to Present Concert Monday Next Story » Lee Hosts 10th Annual Constitution Bowl