Lee News

Williams Named Recipient of Lee's Excellence in Teaching Award


Dr. Christine Williams has been selected as the recipient of Lee University’s 2020 Excellence in Teaching Award. President Paul Conn made this announcement during a virtual faculty and staff meeting on May 14.

The Excellence Awards are the highest honors presented to Lee faculty members and recognize advising, scholarship, and teaching. The Excellence in Teaching is the oldest award and considered to be superior among the three. The winner of this award is chosen by a special committee which includes representatives of six different academic departments.
Christine Williams Receives Award
Dr. Christine Williams

According to the committee, “Dr. Williams is the best of the best of faculty here at Lee University. Her excellent classroom instruction, genuine concern for students, and deep Christian commitment made her the obvious choice.”

Williams joined the Communication Arts faculty in 2007 where she currently serves as professor of theatre and coordinator of the university’s theatre program. She has directed several Lee Theatre productions such as “Doubt,” “Meet Me in St. Louis,” “My Fair Lady,” “The Importance of Being Earnest,” “Silent Sky,” and “When Mountains Move.” She teaches courses in acting, dramatic history and literature, theory, and costume design.

She has worked as a director, producer, and designer on more than 50 college, church, and community theatre productions. As an actor, she has performed in plays such as “How I Learned to Drive” at the Toledo Repertoire and as a voice actor for the Colla Marionette's United States production of “Guerrino Detto il Meschino” at the Spoleto International Arts Festival.

Williams has published several articles, book reviews, and performance reviews and has presented papers at national and regional conferences. She is a member of the Theatre as a Liberal Art focus group of the Association for Theatre in Higher Education, is president-elect of the Tennessee Theatre Association, and chair of the Allied Arts Council of the Cleveland/Bradley Chamber of Commerce.

Williams earned her Doctor of Philosophy and Master of Arts from Bowling Green State University and her Bachelor of Arts from the University of Dallas.

Public recognition for the Faculty Excellence Awards traditionally takes place during May graduation exercises, but because these events were postponed to August, the award was formally announced by Conn in the first employee meeting following the traditional graduation weekend.
« Previous Story Woolfitt Receives Lee’s Excellence in Scholarship Award Next Story » DeLaLuz Awarded Rank of Distinguished Professor