Lee News

Symphonic Band to Present Virtual Concert Friday


The Lee Symphonic Band will present “Concert of Hope,” its virtual fall worship concert, on Friday, Nov. 20, at 7:30 p.m. on the university’s website.

“We wanted to present this concert just before Thanksgiving in hopes to inspire all those who have persevered through this year and to be thankful that God has given us hope by sustaining us during this tough time,” said Dr. Mark Bailey, director of the ensemble.

The performance will feature “Fantasy on a Spanish Hymn,” commonly known as “Come Christians Join and Sing,” and “Nettleton,” also known as “Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing.”

The concert will also include “Your Word” and “Is He Worthy,” featuring the Symphonic Band’s rhythm section and vocal team, and “Victory,” a new orchestral arrangement by Camp Kirkland, one of the premier Church musicians in the nation.

The Lee Symphonic Band comprises 56 musicians divided into wind, percussion, rhythm, and a vocal ensemble. Several of these students are former all-state and/or all-regional band participants in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, Ohio, and Tennessee. Many of the members have received scholarship awards for academic excellence and for excellence in musical performance.

Emily Dienken, a senior music education major and Symphonic Band student president, will assist Bailey in conducting the concert.

Bailey currently serves in the School of Music as a professor of music. He has advanced training with the nation’s best wind conductors, including Eugene Corporon, North Texas University, and Myron Welch, University of Iowa. He is a former president of the Christian Instrumentalists and Directors Association and has served as worship arts pastor in leading churches in Ohio and Tennessee.

This event is free, non-ticketed, and will be available for livestream viewing.

For more information, contact the School of Music at (423) 614-8240.
« Previous Story Lee Welcomes International Guests to Speak to Spanish Majors Next Story » 2020 Lettie Pate Whitehead Scholars Announced