Lee News

2015 Rymer Scholarship Winners are Announced

Lee University recently announced the 2015 Rymer Scholarship winners. Three Gold Scholars, three Silver Scholars, and three Bronze Scholars were presented awards at the annual Rymer Scholars banquet at Lee on Wednesday, April 29.

The scholarships are awarded annually by the Rymer Foundation, established by Hoyle Rymer and his father, the late Robert Rymer. The awards honor exceptional achievement and encourage high school students in the area to continue their education in Cleveland. Since the scholarship’s inception in 1989, nearly 200 Clevelanders have earned the title “Rymer Scholar.”

Nine finalists were chosen for the 2015 awards. Principals from Bradley Central High School (BCHS), Cleveland High School (CHS), and Walker Valley High School (WVHS) nominated guidance counselors to serve on the selection committee alongside Lee University representatives.

The selection committee reviewed the applications and conducted interviews with each finalist. Winners were chosen based on outstanding high school achievement and demonstrated potential for a successful college career. Scholars were assessed based on their leadership in extracurricular, athletic, and church-based activities, high-school rank and grade point average, college entrance exam scores, and the interview.

2015 Rymer Scholar Recipients
This year’s Rymer Gold winners are Abigail Brown (CHS), daughter of Jerry and Melissa Brown; Makayla Jenkins (WVHS), daughter of Danny and Kathy Jenkins; and Savannah Stone (WVHS), daughter of Vince and Tena Stone. They will each receive a scholarship of $10,000.

The Rymer Silver winners are Megan Beavers (BCHS), daughter of Angela and Steve Beavers; Rachael Garrett (BCHS), daughter of Jeffrey and Linda Garrett; and Sarah Locke (WVHS) daughter of Randall and Melissa Locke. They will each receive a $5,000 scholarship.

The Rymer Bronze Scholars will receive a scholarship of $2,000. The winners are Joshalyn Brown (CHS), daughter of Joe and Jacqueline Brown; Marisa Estrada (BCHS), daughter of Noé and Tammy Estrada; and Tyler Webb (WVHS), son of Brian and Jessica Webb.

All monetary awards will be dispersed to the winners over a period of four years.

For more information about the Rymer Scholarship, contact Lee’s Office of Admissions at admissions@leeuniversity.edu or (423) 614-8500.

The 2015 Rymer Scholarship winners are pictured above with Vice President for Enrollment Phil Cook at the awards banquet held Wednesday on Lee’s Campus. Pictured (left to right) are Cook, Joshalyn Brown, Tyler Webb, Sarah Locke, Marisa Estrada, Rachael Garrett, Megan Beavers, Savannah Stone, Abigail Brown, and Makayla Jenkins.

« Previous Story Taylor Wins 2015 F.J. Lee Award Next Story » Matthews Receives Zeno C. Tharp Award