• Our department brings in nationally- and regionally-known writers through our annual Writer's Festival. Since its inception more than ten years ago, we have had readings and workshops by writers such as Lauren Winner, Silas House, Rachel Held Evans, Herbert Woodward Martin, Janet Peery, Brian Silberman, and Chris Hansen (a Lee alumnus). In that time, we have had more than fifty authors give readings, work with students individually and in classes, and meet with various groups on and off campus. We have brought a mixture of well-known, award-winning writers and emerging authors to show our students the various ways writers make careers out of their passions.

    Information for 2018-19 Writer's Festival:

    Thursday, October 4, 2018
    7 PM

    Ron Rash
    Ron Rash is the author of the 2009 PEN/Faulkner finalist and New York Times bestseller Serena and Above the Waterfall, in addition to four prizewinning novels, including The Cove, One Foot in Eden, Saints at the River, and The World Made Straight; four collections of poems; and six collections of stories, among them Burning Bright, which won the 2010 Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award, and Chemistry and Other Stories, which was a finalist for the 2007 PEN/Faulkner Award. Twice the recipient of the O. Henry Prize, he teaches at Western Carolina University.

    Thursday, February 28, 2019
    7 PM

    Alison Pelegrin
    Alison Pelegrin is the author of two previous poetry collections, including Big Muddy River of Stars, which won the 2006 Akron Poetry Prize. The recipient of fellowships from The Louisiana Division of the Arts and the National Endowment for the Arts, her poems have appeared in Poetry, The Southern Review, Ploughshares, Copper Nickel, and Barn Owl Review. Alison earned her MFA degree at the University of Arkansas where for two years she was the director of the Arkansas Writers in the Schools Program. She teaches English at Southeastern Louisiana University and lives in Covington, Louisiana, with her family.

    Previous Writer's Festival Authors


    • Robert Morgan
    • James Davis May
    • Nathan Poole


    • Robert Olen Butler
    • Susan O'Dell Underwood


    • Greg Brownderville
    • Scott Russell Sanders
    • Denise Giardina
    • Kevin Brown, Stacey Isom Campbell, and Will Woolfitt


    • Renee Emerson
    • T.J. Jarrett
    • Erin Tocknell
    • Stacey Isom, with Lisa Neely
    • Kevin Brown and Will Woolfitt


    • Tal McThenia
    • Anya Silver
    • Jessie Van Eerden
    • Kevin Brown and Will Woolfitt


    • Lauren Winner
    • Brett Foster
    • Will Woolfitt


    • Rachel Held Evans
    • Stacey Isom, with Lisa Neely and Amber Wood
    • Kevin Brown


    • Chelsea Rathburn
    • Jim Scruton
    • Jeff Hardin
    • Chris Hansen
    • Alexandria LaFaye


    • Silas House
    • Lisa Neely
    • Stacey Isom


    • Janet Peery
    • Brian Silberman
    • Travis Wayne Denton
    • Sebastian Matthews
    • panel discussion with Rick Jackson, Earl Braggs,
      Sybil Baker, Thomas Balazs, and Rebecca Cook


    • Scott Cairns
    • W. Scott Olsen
    • Rick Jackson
    • Katie Chaple
    • Stacey Isom


    • Lauren Winner
    • Vivian Shipley
    • Silas House
    • Herbert Woodward Martin
    • Chad Prevost


    • Lauren Winner
    • Tim Gautreaux
    • Gerry LaFemina
    • Jamie Iredell

Academic Calendar

Grad School Fair
Begins at 11:00 AM

PCSU Lobby
Grad School Fair
Come chat with grad schools about their graduate programs!
Deadline for applying for Student Teaching-Spring 2020
All day

Deadline for applying for Student Teaching-Spring 2020
Winter Graduation: Applications Close
All day

Winter Graduation: Applications Close
Faculty Meeting
Begins at 4:00 PM

Rose Lecture Hall
Faculty Meeting
Final day to Declare/Change Major for Fall Term
All day

Final day to Declare/Change Major for Fall Term
View all events »