• Our department brings in nationally- and regionally-known writers through our annual Writers Series. Since its inception more than ten years ago (originally called the Writer's Festival), we have had readings and workshops by writers such as Lauren Winner, Silas House, Rachel Held Evans, Herbert Woodward Martin, Janet Peery, Brian Silberman, and Chris Hansen (a Lee alumnus). In that time, we have had more than fifty authors give readings, work with students individually and in classes, and meet with various groups on and off campus. We have brought a mixture of well-known, award-winning writers and emerging authors to show our students the various ways writers make careers out of their passions.

    Information for 2019-20 Writers Series:

    Thursday, October 24, 2019
    7 PM

    Jeremy Paden
    Jeremy Paden is Professor of Spanish at Transylvania University and also on the faculty of Spalding University's low-residency MFA, where he teaches literary translation. He is the author of the poetry collections Prison Recipes, Broken Tulips, and Ruina Montium, and a book of translations, Delicate Matters. He is a member of the Affrilachian Poets and resides in Lexington, Kentucky. 

    Thursday, February 27, 2020
    7 PM

    Amy Wright
    Amy Wright is a nonfiction writer and a professor at Austin Peay State University. Her nonfiction books are Wherever the Land Is and Think I'll Go Eat A Worm.

    Previous Writers Series Authors


    • Ron Rash
    • Alison Pelegrin


    • Robert Morgan
    • James Davis May
    • Nathan Poole&


    • Robert Olen Butler
    • Susan O'Dell Underwood


    • Greg Brownderville
    • Scott Russell Sanders
    • Denis Giardina
    • Kevin Brown, Stacey Isom Campbell, and Will Woolfitt


    • Renee Emerson
    • T.J. Jarrett
    • Erin Tocknell
    • Stacey Isom, with Lisa Neely
    • Kevin Brown and Will Woolfitt


    • Tal McThenia
    • Anya Silver
    • Jessie Van Eerden
    • Kevin Brown and Will Woolfitt


    • Lauren Winner
    • Brett Foster
    • Will Woolfitt


    • Rachel Held Evans
    • Stacey Isom, with Lisa Neely and Amber Wood
    • Kevin Brown


    • Chelsea Rathburn
    • Jim Scruton
    • Jeff Hardin
    • Chris Hansen
    • Alexandria LaFaye


    • Silas House
    • Lisa Neely
    • Stacey Isom


    • Janet Peery
    • Brian Silberman
    • Travis Wayne Denton
    • Sebastian Matthews
    • panel discussion with Rick Jackson, Earl Braggs,
      Sybil Baker, Thomas Balazs, and Rebecca Cook


    • Scott Cairns
    • W. Scott Olsen
    • Rick Jackson
    • Katie Chaple
    • Stacey Isom


    • Lauren Winner
    • Vivian Shipley
    • Silas House
    • Herbert Woodward Martin
    • Chad Prevost


    • Lauren Winner
    • Tim Gautreaux
    • Gerry LaFemina
    • Jamie Iredell

Academic Calendar

Last day to withdraw from a class with a "W"
All day

Last day to withdraw from a class with a "W"
Spring Graduation: Application Opens
All day

Spring Graduation: Application Opens
Faculty Meeting
Begins at 4:00 PM

Pangle Hall
Faculty Meeting
VPAA posts official candidate list for Winter Graduation
All day

VPAA posts official candidate list for Winter Graduation
Career Fair Week
Begins at 11:30 AM

PCSU Lobby
Career Fair Week
View all events »