Thompson Elected to ACBSP Board

Monday, August 18, 2014

Alumni Hero
Dr. Dewayne Thompson, professor and chair of the Department of Business at Lee University, was elected Secretary to the Board of Directors for the Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP), the accrediting association for business programs. The appointment took place at the annual conference this summer.

“This post is a member of the Executive Committee which provides leadership for the greater Board,” Thompson said. “I am honored to have been elected.”

Thompson will also take and maintain minutes of all official action of the Board whether in face-to-face meetings or virtual meetings.

Thompson has served as the chair of the business department since 2006. He has been listed in Who's Who Among America's Teachers and received Lee's Excellence in Teaching Award in 1987.

He earned his DBA from Nova Southeastern University, his MBA from Middle Tennessee State University and his BS from Lee College.

For more information about the ACBSP, visit